Skip to Main Content

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission meets on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 6:00 PM, in Independence Hall, 2955 Woodside Road, except for cancellations due to legal holidays or August recess. Independence Hall is located directly adjacent to Town Hall at 2955 Woodside Road. Independence Hall is wheel chair accessible.

The Planning Commission participates in the administration of the planning laws and policies of the Town. The Planning Commission is responsible for recommending ordinances and resolutions necessary to implement the General Plan and adopted development policy to the Town Council. The Commission also conducts necessary public hearings to administer the planning laws and policies of the Town and acts upon applications for zoning amendments, conditional use permits, variances, subdivisions, and other related functions as may be assigned by the Council.

The Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Town Council regarding land use, reviews proposed development projects, and advises as to the overall development and maintenance of the General Plan of the Town. The Planning Commission's powers and duties are specifically enumerated in State planning law (Government Code Section 61500 et seq) and in the Town's Municipal Code (Chapter 32).

The seven members of the Planning Commission are appointed by the Town Council for staggered four-year terms. The Council chooses among nominees offered by the Council itself and from applications filed with the Town Clerk which state each person's qualifications and reasons for appointment. A Planning Commission member is appointed from each of the seven Council Districts, although the Municipal Code does provide for exceptions to this process.

The Planning Commission has adopted a three-hour meeting limit, unless extended by motion during the meeting.

The Planning Commission meeting schedule can be viewed on the Town Calendar.